



For Immediate Release

Northern Policy Institute appoints newest Research Fellow and expands Advisory Council and Research Advisory Board

INSTITUT DES POLITIQUES

October 6, 2015, Timmins, ON – In advance of its AGM being held in Timmins this week, Northern Policy Institute is pleased to announce the appointment of its latest Research Fellow and the expansion of its Advisory Council and Research Advisory Board.

Dr. Barry Prentice joins Northern Policy Institute as its Senior Fellow for Transportation. Dr. Prentice is a Professor of Supply Chain Management at the I.H. Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba and the former Director (1996-2005) of the Transport Institute.

"I have known Barry for many years and have been fortunate enough to work with him in the past," says NPI President Charles Cirtwill, "we are excited to add a transportation expert of his calibre to our group of Senior Fellows."

Prentice is the sixth Institute Fellow joining a group of independent academics who advise and inform Northern Policy Institute's research in specific fields including:

Dr. Rick Audas, Fellow in Growth Metrics Dr. Paul Bennett, Fellow in Education Policy David MacKinnon, Fellow in Fiscal Flows Dr. David Robinson, Fellow in Local Decision Making Dr. Elizabeth Wenghofer, Fellow in Rural and Northern Health

The Advisory Council, a group of committed individuals interested in supporting, but not directing, the work of Northern Policy Institute, welcomes eleven new members. The new members include:

- Dr. Gayle Broad Associate professor in the Community Economic and Social Development program at Algoma University in Sault Ste. Marie
- Tannis Drysdale Economic development practitioner and principal of Tannis Drysdale Consulting
- John Fior Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk and Director of Planning and Development for the Municipality of East Ferris
- Ron Garbutt Councillor with the Municipality of French River
- Peter Goring Sponsor of the Goring Family Lecture series
- Frank Kallonen President and CEO of the Greater Sudbury Utilities Group
- Ogimaa Duke Peltier Chief of Wiikwemkoong Unceded
- Kathryn Poling Former mayor of Sioux Lookout
- Peter Politis Mayor of Cochrane
- Tina Sartoretto Mayor of Cobalt
- Keith Saulnier Councillor with the municipality of Parry Sound

P • 1 (807) 343-8956 Office • 874 Tungsten Street Mail • P.O. Box 10117, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T6 E • info@northernpolicy.ca www.northernpolicy.ca f/NorthernPolicy





Leaders in their field, members of the Advisory Council provide guidance and input, communications, potential researchers, or other points of contact in the wider community. One Advisor is selected from each district in Northern Ontario with two Advisors each coming from the Thunder Bay and Greater Sudbury/Sudbury regions. The remaining three come from beyond the north. Current members of the Advisory Council include:

• Barbara Courte Elinesky – The CEO of Cobra Diamond Drilling and North Star Drilling

INSTITUT DES POLITIQUES

- Brian Davey Executive Director, Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund
- Tony Dean Professor at the School of Public Policy and Governance
- Don Drummond Appointed to the Donald Matthews Faculty Fellowship on Global Public Policy at Queen's University and the co-chair of the C. D. Howe Institute's Fiscal and Tax Competitiveness Council

"Our volunteers and staff come from all across northern Ontario and beyond and from an amazing variety of backgrounds," says Cirtwill, "there are few issues that at least one of us does not have some personal experience with. The expanded Advisory Council is a key component of our ability to not only engage with all northerners but to understand and appreciate what we hear."

Tannis Drysdale of Fort Frances Ontario, in addition to joining the Advisory Council, has also consented to become its first Chair. Her role will be to work with the other Advisors to help Northern Policy Institute engage our communities more fully in a two-way conversation. Drysdale stated, "I am delighted to offer my name as Chair of the Advisory Council and look forward to working with this group of amazingly qualified individuals to support the work of Northern Policy Institute."

The Research Advisory Board, Northern Policy Institute's formal link to the academic community, welcomes eight new members, which include:

- Dr. Hugo Asselin Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Forestry at the University of Quebec
- Dr. Stephen Blank Senior Fellow and Special Advisor, Collaboratory on Energy, Research and Policy at the University of Ottawa
- George Burton President and CEO of Canadore College
- Dr. Robert Campbell President of Mount Allison University
- Dr. lain Davidson-Hunt Associate Professor with the Natural Resources Institute at the University of Manitoba.
- Leata Rigg Faculty member of Health Sciences at Northern College
- J.D. Snyder Head of the Michigan State University Centre of Community and Economic Development Binational Regional Collaboration and Innovative Export Strategies projects
- Dr. Lindsay Tedds An associate professor in the School of Public Administration at the University of Victoria

"The Research Advisory Board," explains Cirtwill, "balances dedicated representation for northern colleges and universities with trans-national and international membership. They are a group of academic researchers who provide guidance and input on potential research direction, potential authors, and draft studies and commentaries for Northern Policy Institute."

P • 1 (807) 343-8956 Office • 874 Tungsten Street Mail • P.O. Box 10117, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T6 E • info@northernpolicy.ca www.northernpolicy.ca f/NorthernPolicy





The newest members will be joining a group that already includes prominent academics and researchers from across Ontario:

• Dr. John Allison – Associate Professor in the Schulich School of Education at Nipissing University

INSTITUT DES POLITIQUES

- Dr. Randy Battochio Applied Research Manager at College Boreal
- Jonathan Dewar Director of the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre and Special Advisor to the President at Algoma University
- Dr. Livio Di Matteo Professor of Economics at Lakehead University and Senior Fellow at the Fraser Institute
- Dr. Morley Gunderson Professor at the Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources and Department of Economics at the University of Toronto
- Dr. Anne-Marie Mawhiney Professor, School of Rural and Northern Health, Laurentian University
- S. Brenda Small Vice President for the Centre for Policy in Aboriginal Learning at Confederation College

Dr. Randy Battochio of College Boreal will serve as the group's inaugural Chair. "I was very pleased to be invited to take on this responsibility and I can't wait to engage this collection of leading thinkers even more fully in the work of getting Northern Ontario on an evidence based path to sustainable prosperity," says Battochio.

To read full biographies of the members of the Advisory Council and the Research Advisory Board, visit <u>www.northernpolicy.ca</u>.

Media Interviews: Northern Policy Institute President and CEO, Charles Cirtwill, is available for comment. To arrange an interview, please contact:

Doug Diaczuk Communications Coordinator 807-343-8991 ddiaczuk@northernpolicy.ca

About Northern Policy Institute:

Northern Policy Institute is Northern Ontario's independent think tank. We perform research, collect and disseminate evidence, and identify policy opportunities to support the growth of sustainable Northern Communities. Our Operations are located in Thunder Bay and Sudbury. We seek to enhance Northern Ontario's capacity to take the lead position on socio-economic policy that impacts Northern Ontario, Ontario, and Canada as a whole.

P • 1 (807) 343-8956 Office • 874 Tungsten Street Mail • P.O. Box 10117, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T6 E • info@northernpolicy.ca www.northernpolicy.ca f/NorthernPolicy